ibbyFOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  June 9, 2015: IBBY Canada, the Canadian national section of the International Board on Books for Young People, is pleased to announce that the Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature will be presented to Judith Saltman and Jacques Payette. Both winners will receive their awards in conjunction with a special event for children’s literature in the coming year.

Judith Saltman is the recipient of the Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature in English. Ms. Saltman is a Professor at the School of Library, Archival & Information Studies, and Chair of the Master of Arts in Children’s Literature Program at the University of British Columbia. With Gail Edwards, she authored Picturing Canada: A History of Canadian Children’s Illustrated Books and Publishing. Her research includes literature for children and young adults, publishing for children in Canada, and public library services for children and young adults.

Jacques Payette is the recipient of the Claude Aubry Award for distinguished service in the field of children’s literature in French.  Mr. Payette is a pioneer in the publishing and the editing of children’s books and magazines in Quebec.  Since 1968 he has been the owner of Éditions Heritage, which now lists over 2000 titles, and in 1997 founded the publishing house Dominque et compagnie.  Toupi and Binou, Alice, Caillou, and Galette—characters well known to children today—are among the many creations he has published.

The Claude Aubry Award jury was comprised of Lisa Doucet (Woozles Bookstore, Halifax), Annabelle Foster (Saskatoon Youth Librarian), France Lapierre (retired MELS Quebec), and Susane Duchesne (Librairie Monet, Montreal Youth Literature Bookseller).

The Claude Aubry Award was established in 1981 in honour of the late author, translator, and director of the Ottawa Public Library. IBBY Canada presents two Aubry Awards biennially, from nominations of individuals who have made a significant contribution to Canadian children’s literature. Eligible nominees include authors, publishers, illustrators, translators, designers, editors, librarians, booksellers, and teachers. Previous recipients include Patsy Aldana, Marie-Louise Gay, Andrea Deakin, Chantal Vaillancourt, Dave Jenkinson, Charlotte Guérette, Peter Carver, Catherine Mitchell, Bertrand Gauthier, Michael Solomon, Ron Jobe, Virginia Davis, Judy Sarick, May Cutler and Sheila Egoff.

IBBY, the International Board on Books for Young People (www.ibby.org), founded in 1953, represents an international network of people committed to bringing books and children together. IBBY Canada, a volunteer organization formed in 1980 to promote Canadian children’s literature, is one of over 70 IBBY national sections worldwide, and.  IBBY Canada members include authors, illustrators, librarians, booksellers, educators, and publishers. For more information about IBBY and the Claude Aubry Award, please visit www.ibby-canada.


Meet Saule Chikeyeva and Catherine Haney – the latest winners of the 2014 GSS cIRcle Open Scholar Award!

Saule Chikeyeva comes from the UBC Department of Educational Studies and won this Award for the work, “Policy Analysis of the Per Capita Funding of Public Schools in Kazakhstan” at: http://hdl.handle.net/2429/50452. Chikeyeva sets out “to better understand the per capita financing pilot project” in the context of the ‘chosen funding model and its educational aims through the lenses of efficiency, equity, equality, adequacy and accountability’.

Catherine Haney (pictured above) is a PhD student from the UBC School of Nursing. Haney won this Award for her work, “Considering oral history: Methodological questions and reflections” at: http://hdl.handle.net/2429/46680. If her name sounds familiar, it could be due to the fact that she has published two other works in cIRcle – a 2011 MSc thesis at: http://hdl.handle.net/2429/39214 and a journal article at: http://hdl.handle.net/2429/45155. Along with other UBC Nursing colleagues, staff and faculty, Haney helped organize a successful graduate student research symposium held at the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre on May 2, 2014. It showcased innovative nursing research plus ideas and drew presenters from Canada, Washington State and as far away as Brazil.

Congratulations to Saule Chikeyeva and Catherine Haney on winning the Award – valuing $500 each!

The GSS cIRcle Open Scholar Award aims to feature UBC as a leader in the open dissemination of graduate non-thesis coursework projects or manuscripts subject to instructor approval. Award details at: http://circle.sites.olt.ubc.ca/gss-graduate-student-society-open-scholar-award/

Above image is courtesy of UBC Graduate Student Society

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

UBC Library





Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia

Spam prevention powered by Akismet