Author Archives: lfsgradmgr

LFS Graduate Program Advisors

The LFS Graduate & Postdoctoral Office is pleased to announce the following Graduate Program Advisor appointments:

Applied Animal Biology (AABI) Ronaldo Cerri

ronaldo.cerri@ubc.ca

Food Science (FOOD) Siyun Wang

siyun.wang@ubc.ca

Human Nutrition (HUNU) Angela Devlin

adevlin@mail.ubc.ca

Integrated Studies in Land & Food Systems (ISLFS) James Vercammen

james.vercammen@ubc.ca

Plant Science (PLNT) Simone Castellarin

simone.castellarin@ubc.ca

Soil Science (SOIL) Sean Smukler

sean.smukler@ubc.ca

 

Karl C. Ivarson Agricultural Scholarship

The Canadian Foundation for Food and Agricultural Education invites applications for The Karl C. Ivarson Agricultural Scholarship.

This scholarship is open to agricultural science students from the province of Alberta. Students may be enrolled in any post‐secondary institution within or outside the province of Alberta. In

2019, two awards will be granted:

$10,000 Masters level

$17,000 PhD level

Candidates must hold Canadian Citizenship or Permanent Residence status in Canada and be enrolled in their graduate program for at least one semester beyond the application deadline.

Deadline for applications is October 18, 2019

Scholarships are awarded on the following basis, but not necessarily placed in order of importance:

1.   Academic achievement

2.   Areas of study

3.   Community Involvement

4.   Career interests

5.   Letters of recommendation

This scholarship was created by Dr. Karl C. Ivarson through a gift to the Canadian Foundation for Food and Agricultural Education.  Application Guidelines, Application Form and Referee Form can be found at http://cffae.ca/ivarson-agricultural-scholarship/.

Canadian Foundation for Food and Agricultural Education

300 Earl Grey Drive, Suite 233, Ottawa, Ontario K2T 1C1

manager@cffae.ca    |     www.cffae.ca

 

 

 

URGENT – LFS Graduate Student Travel Award

Good morning:

If you have an LFS Graduate Student Travel Award application to submit for period September 1, 2018 to August 30, 2019, please submit it ASAP.  I need to close out this year’s funding period as soon as possible in order to be able to confirm funding levels for next year.

Thank you!

Shelley

Shelley Small
Manager, Graduate Programs
The University of British Columbia
Faculty of Land and Food Systems
Room 344 MacMillan Building – 2357 Main Mall
Vancouver BC  V6T 1Z4
Phone:  604-822-4593       Fax:  604-822-4400
lfs.gradmgr@ubc.ca          www.landfood.ubc.ca