History & Alumni

The UBC Mental Health Awareness Club (UBC MHAC) is a student-run initiative that was founded in the summer of 2010 under the direction of Michael Lee, OSOT professor and curriculum coordinator, the Teaching and Learning Enhancement Fund (TLEF) advisory group, and OT masters students. The group initially consisted of mainly OT students; however with persistent effort from the previous executives, the club was able to reach increase their target audience within the UBC community by the end of the summer 2012. With every new academic year, the UBC MHAC strives to not only complete each section of the mandate, but to also ensure club sustainability through internal mentorship.

2019-2020 Academic Year

  • Presidents: Jennifer Wang, Michelle Liu
  • Vice President, Internal: Candice Chan
  • Vice President, External: Sarah Vereschagin
  • Communication Coordinators: Bridget Meehan, Madhura Hanjagi, Pamela Aracena, Khushi Aggarwal, Johnny Pantazis, Sarvenaz Ol
  • Vice President, Events: Zainab Fatima
  • Events Coordinators: Devanshi Gupta, Ashwini Prabhakaran, Tiana Mori, Fiona Chow, Will Li, Jasleen Kaur, Manya Kapur, Anoushka Sawarkar, Karyn Huang, Kishlay Chhajer, Rayyan Basheer, Sanjam Suri, Claire Kent, Victor Lee, Christy Lam
  • Vice President, Finance: Melissa Vereschagin
  • Sponsorship Coordinators: Mindy Ghag, Sneha Gupta, Marylise Habiyambere, Francesca Chiam

2015-2016 Academic Year

  • Presidents: Maja Dziok, Jane Wang
  • Vice President, Internal: Kim Coscolluela, Sarah Yeo
  • Vice President, External: Kim Go
  • Communication Coordinators: Sarah Huang, Chanpreet Mangat, Amanda Chao, Kim Nipp
  • Blog Editor: Valerie Chu, Charlotte Aitken
  • Vice President, Events: Rochelle Nocos, Natasha Ingeneiro
  • Events Coordinators: McKenzie Hannewyk, Kristina Frkovic, Jamie Goco, Sarah Louadi, Jenny Lee, Laura Tan, Arushi Grover, Saba Fatemi, Gjalen Heer, Ravi Sandhu, Tim Christilaw
  • Vice President, Finance: Penny Zhang
  • Sponsorship Coordinators: Michael Lee, Hayami Lou, Clement Choi, Jimmi Terry

2014-2015 Academic Year

  • Presidents: Amber Mann, Ameera Ladak
  • Vice President, Internal: Jane Wang
  • Vice President, External: Jessica Jun
  • Communication Coordinators: Jennifer Pooni, Marian Aamir
  • Vice President, Events: Noa Rippel, Megan Johnstone
  • Events Coordinators: Jennifer She, Beibei Song, Saba Fatemi
  • Vice President, Finance: Penny Zhang
  • Sponsorship Coordinators: Tony Han

2012-2013 Academic Year

  • Presidents: Bailey Komishke and Chris Pang
  • Vice President, External: Stephanie Yeung
  • Vice President, Internal: Julia Goldman
  • Vice President, Events: Penny Zhang
  • Events Coordinators: Mark Antczak, Harveer Athwal, Yoo-Ra Kim
  • Vice President, Finance: Sarthak Kochhar
  • Social Media Coordinator: Jessica Jun
  • Sponsorship Coordinators: Rebecca Le and Vineet Sidhu
  • Project Assistant: Danielle Sanders

2011-2012 Academic Year

  • Presidents: Kevin Ly and Victor Tang
  • Vice Presidents: Annie Liang and Laura Tighe
  • Secretary: Laura Volpatti
  • Treasurer: Carol Chu
  • Volunteer Coordinator: Cassie MacRae
  • Project Assistant: Michelle Pang

2010-2011 Academic Year

  • President: Thao Dao
  • Other Executives: Erin Brown, Karen Chu, Laura Lush, and Vivian Wong
  • Project Assistant: Kevin Ly

Last updated: May 1st, 2020

Spam prevention powered by Akismet