Detailed Bio

Karthik Pattabiraman is a Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECE) at the University of British Columbia (UBC) in Canada. He received his PhD in 2009 in Computer Science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), an MS in Computer Science also from UIUC in 2004, and B. Tech. from the University of Madras, India, in 2001. Before joining UBC, he was a post-doctoral researcher at Microsoft Research for a year in 2009. His research interests are in dependable computer systems, systems security, cyber-physical systems, and software engineering.

Karthik has won the Inaugural Rising Star in Dependability Award in 2020, UIUC CS department’s early career distinguished alumni award in 2018, UBC Killam mentoring excellence award in 2020, UBC Killam Faculty Research Prize in 2018, UBC Killam Faculty Research Fellowship in 2016, NSERC Discovery Accelerator Supplement (DAS) in 2015, and the William Carter Dissertation Award in 2008. Together with his students, he has won twelve best paper (or runner up) awards at venues such as DSN, ICSE, ISSRE, ICST, QRS, etc. His students have won awards such as the SPEC Kaivalya Dixit Distinguished Dissertation award, the William Carter dissertation award in dependability, and the SIGHPC distinguished dissertation award (honorable mention).

Karthik initiated and led the Flikker project at Microsoft Research, which was one of the first papers in the field of what is now known as “approximate computing” or “good enough computing” (a term that he coined in a talk). He is listed in the DSN conference hall of fame (in the top 10%). He is a member of the IFIP Working Group (WG) 10.4 on Dependable Computing and Fault-tolerance (vice-chair from 2019), and the steering committees of the IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN), and the IEEE Pacific Rim International Conference on Dependable Computing (PRDC). He is a Professional Engineer (P.Eng.) in British Columbia, a Senior member of the IEEE, and a senior and distinguished member of the ACM.