Selected Papers (from 2010)

Top Conferences (total = 35)

NOTE: Only publications in top-tier conferences with low acceptance rates, are listed here. For a list of all publications, please go here.


POMABuster: Detecting Price Oracle Manipulation Attacks in Decentralized Finance, Rui Xi, Zehua Wang, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance rate: 17.8%)


Overconfidence is a Dangerous Thing: Mitigating Membership Inference Attacks by Enforcing Less Confident Prediction, Zitao Chen and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 15%)


Structural Coding: A Low-Cost Scheme to Protect CNNs from Large-Granularity Memory Faults, Ali Asgari, Florian Geissler, Syed Qutub, Michael Paulitsch, Prashant Nair, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 23.9%).


SwarmFuzz: Discovering GPS Spoofing Attacks in Drone Swarms, Yiangao (Elaine) Yao, Pritam Dash, and Karthik Pattabiraman (Acceptance Rate: 20%).


AChecker, Statically Detecting Smart Contract Access Control Vulnerabilities, Asem Ghaleb, Julia Rubin, and Karthik Pattabiraman (Acceptance Rate: 26%).


eTainter: Detecting Gas-Related Vulnerabilities in Smart Contracts, Asem Ghaleb, Julia Rubin, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 24.5%).


The Fault in Our Data Stars: Studying Mitigation Techniques against Faulty Training Data in ML Applications, Abraham Chan, Arpan Gujarati, Karthik Pattabiraman, and Sathish Gopalakrishnan. (Acceptance Rate: 18.7%)


PID-Piper: Recovering Robotic Vehicles from Physical Attacks, Pritam Dash, Guanpeng Li, Zitao Chen, Mehdi Karimibiuki, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 16.5%). Best paper award.


A Low Cost Fault Corrector for Deep Neural Networks through Range Restriction, Zitao Chen, Guanpeng Li, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 16.5%). Best paper award runner up (one of two papers).


GPU-TRIDENT: Efficient Modeling of Error Propagation in GPU Programs, Abdul Rehman Anwer, Guanpeng Li, Karthik Pattabiraman, Michael Sullivan, Timothy Tsai and Siva Hari. (Acceptance Rate: 25.1%)


How Effective are Smart Contract Analysis Tools? Evaluating Smart Contract Static Analysis Tools Using Bug Injection, Asem Ghaleb and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 26%)


Trace Sanitizer: Eliminating the Effects of Non-Determinism on Error Propagation Analysis, Habib Saissi, Stefan Winter, Oliver Schwan, Karthik Pattabiraman, and Neeraj Suri. (Acceptance Rate: 16.5%)


BinFI: An Efficient Fault Injector for Safety-Critical Machine Learning Systems, Zitao Chen, Guanpeng Li, Karthik Pattabiraman, and Nathan DeBardeleben. (Acceptance Rate: 21%). Finalist for SC reproducibility challenge (1 of 3)


Modeling Soft-Error Propagation in Programs, Guanpeng Li, Karthik Pattabiraman, Siva Kumar Sastry Hari, Michael Sullivan, and Timothy Tsai. (Acceptance Rate: 25%). Best Paper Award Runner Up – one of two papers.


Modeling Input-Dependent Error Propagation in Programs, Guanpeng Li, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 25%)


Inferring Hierarchical Motifs from Execution Traces, Saba Alimadadi, Ali Mesbah, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 21%)


Detecting Unknown Inconsistencies in Web Applications, Frolin Ocariza, Karthik Pattabiraman, and Ali Mesbah. (Acceptance Rate: 21%)


Understanding Error Propagation in Deep learning Neural Networks (DNN) Accelerators and Applications, Guanpeng Li, Siva Hari, Michael Sullivan, Timothy Tsai, Karthik Pattabiraman, Joel Emer, Stephen Keckler. (Acceptance Rate: 19%). Chosen for IEEE Top Picks in Test and Reliability (TPTR), 2023.


ARTINALI: Dynamic Invariant Detection for Cyber-Physical System Security, Maryam Raiyat Aliabadi, Amita Kamath, Julien Samson, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 24%)


LetGo: A Lightweight Continuous Framework for HPC Applications Under Failures, Bo Fang, Qiang Guan, Nathan Debardeleben, Karthik Pattabiraman, and Matei Ripeanu. (Acceptance Rate: 19%)

DSN’17 One Bit is (Not) Enough: An Empirical Study of the Impact of Single Bit and Multiple Bit-Flip Errors, Behrooz Sangchoolie, Karthik Pattabiraman and Johan Karlsson. (Acceptance Rate: 23%)

Understanding Error Propagation in GPGPU Applications, Guanpeng Li, Karthik Pattabiraman, Chen-Yong Cher and Pradip Bose. (Acceptance Rate: 18%)


ePVF: An Enhanced Program Vulnerability Factor Methodology for Cross-Layer Resilience Analysis, Bo Fang, Qining Lu, Karthik Pattabiraman, Matei Ripeanu and Sudhanva Gurumurthi. (Acceptance Rate: 21%)


Understanding Asynchronous Interactions in Full-Stack JavaScript, Saba Alimadadi, Ali Mesbah and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 19%)


Synthesizing Web Element Locators, Kartik Bajaj, Karthik Pattabiraman and Ali Mesbah. (Acceptance Rate: 20.8%)


Fine-Grained Characterization of Faults Causing Long Latency Crashes in Programs, Guanpeng Li, Qining Lu and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 22%)


Finding Inconsistencies in JavaScript MVC Applications, Frolin Ocariza, Karthik Pattabiraman and Ali Mesbah. (Acceptance Rate: 18.5%)


Integrated Hardware-Software Diagnosis for Intermittent Hardware Faults, Majid Dadashi, Layali Rashid, Karthik Pattabiraman and Sathish Gopalakrishnan. (Acceptance Rate: 30%).


Quantifying the Accuracy of High-Level Fault Injection Techniques for Hardware Faults, Jiesheng Wei, Anna Thomas, Guanpeng Li, and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 30%).


Vejovis: Suggesting Fixes for JavaScript Faults, Frolin S. Ocariza, Karthik Pattabiraman and Ali Mesbah. (Acceptance Rate: 20%).


Understanding JavaScript Event-Based Interactions, Saba Alimadi, Sheldon Sequira, Ali Mesbah and Karthik Pattabiraman (Acceptance Rate: 20%). ACM SIGSOFT Distinguished Paper Award (one of nine papers)


Dompletion: DOM-Aware Code Completion, Kartik Bajaj, Karthik Pattabiraman and Ali Mesbah. (Acceptance Rate: 20%)


Error Detector Placement for Soft Computation,
Anna Thomas and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance rate: 20%)


BLOCKWATCH: Leveraging Similarity in Parallel Programs for Error Detection, Jiesheng Wei and Karthik Pattabiraman. (Acceptance Rate: 17%).


Flikker: Saving DRAM Refresh-power through Critical Data Partitioning , Song Liu, Karthik Pattabiraman, Thomas Moscibroda and Benjamin Zorn. (Acceptance Rate: 20% )