Seven Sacred Directions: Ojibwe Curriculum

Diagram for Ojibwe Curriculum (4 Directions Teaching, 2006)

Elder LillianPitawanakwat shares the sacred teachings of the Medicine Wheel in this article on Ojibwe/Powawatomi teaching. Although her focus is on Ojibwe knowledge, she also points out that across First Nations groups, these teachings are basically the same. Each of the Seven Sacred Directions has seven teachings, which in turn have sub-teachings as well. The Four Cardinal points within the seven directions remind individuals of the need for balance in their lives as well as within themselves. Along with the Seven Stages of Life – from birth to death – we can also find the Seven Grandfather Teachings that provide the gifts of honesty, humility, courage, wisdom, respect, generosity and love.


There are no comments yet...

Kick things off by filling out the form below.

You must log in to post a comment.