June 30 Preliminary Results from GEC: First-Past-the-Post

At 12h this afternoon the General Election Commission held another press conference to update the election results, reproduced on the news.mn website.

Three candidates came in second or third, respectively, but received less than the minimum required for election (28%, according to Art. 48.4 of the election law). That means, a run-off election for that seat will have to be held. According to Art 48.6,

re-polling referred to in Article 48.4 hereof shall involve candidates with the most votes and double the number of the contested mandate(s)

When there is a single seat that is not won because no one received more than 28% of the vote, we double this single seat (the “contested mandate” in 48.6) and thus conclude that the top two recipients in the voting will be involved in a run-off. [Thanks to Enkhbold Z for pointing me in the right direction on this issue.]

Here it is in English (m=male f=female; tw marks MPs whose Twitter account I have found and listed):

1. Arkhangai
N Batbayar DP m incumb tw
B Bolor DP f new tw

2. Bayan-Olgii
A Tleikhan MPP m new
A Bakei DP m new

3. Bayankhongor
Kh Battulga DP m incumb tw
D Ganbat DP m new

4. Bulgan
Y Otgonbayar MPP m incumb tw

5. Gobi-Altai
Ts Dashdorj MPP m new

6. Dorn-Gobi
Sh Batsuur MPP m new

7. Dornod
Kh Bolorchuluun Indep f new
N Nomtoibayar MPP m new tw

8. Dund-Gobi
B Narankhuu DP m incumb tw

9. Zavkhlan
Ya Tsanjmyatav DP m new
D Oyunkhorol MPP f incumb

10. Ovorkhangai
S Chinzorig MPP m new
N Tomorkhuu MPP m new

11. Omn-Gobi
D Bat-Erdene DP m new tw

12. Sukhbaatar
M Zorigt DP m new tw

13. Selenge
S Bayartsogt DP incumb tw
J Erdenebat MPP new

14. Tov
M Enkhbold MPP m incumb tw
Su Batbold MPP m incumb

15. Uvs
Ch Khurelbaatar MPP m incumb tw
B Choijilsuren MPP m incumb

16. Khovd
S Byambatsogt MPP m incumb tw
D Batsogt MPRP m new

17. Khuvsgul
L Enkh-Amgalan MPP m new
N Davaasuren Indep m new

18. Khentii
B Bat-Erdene MPP m incumb
B Garamgaibaatar DP m new

19. Darkhan-Uul
S Ganbaatar Indep m new tw
[D Khayankhyarvaa MPP m incumb tw Note: not elected, requires run-off]

20. Orkhon
O Sodbileg MPP m new
L Tsog MPRP m new

21. Khan-Uul
Ts Oyungerel DP f new tw
Lu Bold DP m incumb tw

22. Bayanzurkh
J Batzandan DP m new tw
D Gankhuyag DP m incumb tw
B Batsorig MPP m new [Note: not elected, requires run-off]

23. Sukhbaatar
Lu Gantumur DP m incumb tw
R Amarjargal DP m incum tw

24. Bayangol
S Erdene DP m incumb
S Odontuya DP f  new tw

25. Songinokhairkhan
D Terbishdagva MPRP m incumb
L Erdenechimeg DP f new
L Erkhembayar DP m new tw [Note: not elected, requires run-off]

26. Chingeltei
G Uyanga MPRP f new
G Bayarsaikhan DP m incumb

All that would add up to DP 21, MPP 17, MPRP 4, Independent 3, with three seats unfilled awaiting a run-off election.

About Julian Dierkes

Julian Dierkes is a sociologist by training (PhD Princeton Univ) and a Mongolist by choice and passion since around 2005. He teaches in the Master of Public Policy and Global Affairs at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. He tweets @jdierkes
This entry was posted in Civil Will Green Party, Democratic Party, Elections, Ikh Khural 2012, Mongolian People's Party, Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to June 30 Preliminary Results from GEC: First-Past-the-Post

  1. Pingback: Seat Distribution Based on June 30 Preliminary Results | Mongolia Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.