Seat Distribution Based on Corrected June 30 Preliminary Results

Combining the numbers from the General Election Commission in two previous posts (corrected FPTP and PR), we would arrive at the following seat distribution (relying on GEC figures via

Proportional representation:

  • DP 10 seats
  • MPP 9
  • MPRP 7
  • CWGP 2


  • DP 21 seats
  • MPP 19
  • MPRP 4
  • Independent 3

Yielding a total of:

  • DP 31 seats
  • MPP 28
  • MPRP 11
  • Independents 3
  • CWGP 2

Recall that this totals 75 because of the two run-offs one of which is between two MPP candidates.

Numerically possible coalitions to yield a 39 seat majority:

  • DP + MPP = 60 seats (incl. two run-off seats as those only involve the DP & MPP)
  • DP + MPRP = 42 or 43 seats
  • MPP + MPRP = 39 or 40 seats

Independents and CWGP could be added to the above coalitions, of course.

About Julian Dierkes

Julian Dierkes is a sociologist by training (PhD Princeton Univ) and a Mongolist by choice and passion since around 2005. He teaches in the Master of Public Policy and Global Affairs at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. He toots and tweets @jdierkes
This entry was posted in Civil Will Green Party, Democratic Party, Elections, Ikh Khural 2012, Mongolian People's Party, Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party, Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Seat Distribution Based on Corrected June 30 Preliminary Results

  1. Pingback: Women Part of a Major Turnover in Mongolian Parliament | Asia Pacific Memo

  2. Pingback: Democraffiti? Graffolotics? « Public art in Ulaanbaatar

  3. Pingback: Mongolia: electronic counting but no trust | East Asia Forum

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *