Seat Distribution Based on June 30 Preliminary Results

Combining the numbers from the General Election Commission in two previous posts (FPTP and PR), we would arrive at the following seat distribution (relying on GEC figures but excluding run-off seats):

Proportional representation:

  • DP 10 seats
  • MPP 9
  • MPRP 7
  • CWGP 2


  • DP 21 seats
  • MPP 17
  • MPRP 4
  • Independent 3

Yielding a total of:

  • DP 31 seats
  • MPP 26
  • MPRP 11
  • Independents 3
  • CWGP 2

Recall that this totals 73 because of the three run-offs.

Numerically possible coalitions to yield a 39 seat majority:

  • DP + MPP = 57 seats
  • DP + MPRP = 42 seats
  • MPP + MPRP = 37 seats [this would only be a 39 seat majority if the two leading MPP candidates win their run-off]

Independents and CWGP could be added to the above coalitions, of course.


About Julian Dierkes

Julian Dierkes is a sociologist by training (PhD Princeton Univ) and a Mongolist by choice and passion since around 2005. He teaches in the Master of Public Policy and Global Affairs at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. He toots
This entry was posted in Civil Will Green Party, Democratic Party, Elections, Ikh Khural 2012, Mongolian People's Party, Mongolian People's Revolutionary Party, Party Politics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Seat Distribution Based on June 30 Preliminary Results

  1. Pingback: Estimate of Mongolia election results by Julian Dierkes | Lenz Blog

  2. Pingback: Getting Yelled at Over Election Results | Mongolia Today

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *